Minors

Departmental Minor

A departmental minor consists of six or seven courses. These must include one introductory level course and at least one upper-level course or seminar. Students choose courses for the minor in consultation with the director of the department’s minor program. No more than two Core courses may be used toward a minor. Core courses not counting toward a departmental major will not count toward a departmental minor. Students may not major and minor in the same department unless that department offers more than one major.

At a Glance

How many courses?

A Morrissey College Interdisciplinary minors consist of 18 credits 


Types of Courses

Must include either a required introductory course or a concluding seminar or project. Some programs require both.


Who is eligible?

Minors are open to all undergraduate students and courses prescribed by the requirements of the minor must be accessible to the students.


Interdisciplinary Minors

Course Director(s) Email
African and African Diaspora Studies Martin Summers
martin.summers@bc.edu
American Studies Adam Lewis
adam.lewis.2@bc.edu
Ancient Civilization Mark Thatcher
markthatcher@bc.edu
Asian American Studies Min Song
min.song.1@bc.edu
Asian Studies Fall Acting Director
Sing-chen Chiang
singchen.chiang@bc.edu

Spring Acting Director
Christina Klein
christina.klein@bc.edu
Catholic Studies Fr. Charles Gallagher
charles.gallagher@bc.edu
East European Studies Maxim Shrayer
maxim.shrayer@bc.edu
Environmental Studies Acting Director
Tara Pisani-Gareau
tara.pisanigareau@bc.edu
Faith, Peace and Justice Joshua Snyder
joshua.snyder@bc.edu
German Studies Daniel Bowles
Daniel.Bowles@bc.edu
International Studies Erik Owens
erik.owens@bc.edu

Patricia McLaughlin
patricia.mclaughlin.3@bc.edu
Irish Studies James H. Murphy
james.h.murphy@bc.edu
Islamic Civilization and Societies Ali Banuazizi
ali.banuazizi@bc.edu

Kathleen Bailey
kathleen.bailey@bc.edu
Jewish Studies Donald Fishman
donald.fishman@bc.edu

John Michalczyk
john.michalczyk.1@bc.edu
Journalism Angela Ards
angela.ards@bc.edu
Latin American Studies Ernesto Livon-Grosman
ernesto.livon-grosman@bc.edu
Managing for Social Impact and the Public Good Mary J. Cronin
mary.cronin@bc.edu

Kenneth Himes, O.F.M.
kenneth.himes@bc.edu
Medical Humanities, Health, and Culture Amy Boesky
amy.boesky@bc.edu
Psychoanalytic Studies Vanessa Rumble
vanessa.rumble@bc.edu
Women & Gender Studies

Sharlene Hesse-Biber
sharlene.hesse-biber@bc.edu

Lisa Cuklanz
lisa.cuklanz@bc.edu

Students in the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences completing minors in the Lynch School of Education must fulfill all major, Core, and elective Arts and Sciences requirements, and have credit in at least 32 Morrissey College courses. Students are eligible to enroll in three LSOE minors.

It is advisable, regardless of the student’s major area of study, to carefully select Core courses in the freshman year.

General Education Minor

Open to all Morrissey College majors; however, this minor does not lead to certification.
General Education Requirements


Inclusive Education Minor

The minor is designed to (a) introduce Morrissey College students to the world of disabilities and special education, with an emphasis on special education practice, and (b) enhance the ability of future professionals to meet the needs of increasingly diverse school populations.
Inclusive Education Requirements | Field Observation Project


Secondary Education Minor

Open only to select Morrissey College majors, the minor enables students to combine a liberal arts education and scholarship in a major discipline with professional study and practice. The minor leads to state certification.
Secondary Education Requirements